Dubai

Dubai

Dubai is the largest city of the United Arab Emirates at the Persian Gulf and the capital of the Emirate of Dubai, where about 85% of the residents of the Emirates live. Accordingly, almost all of the economic, social, cultural and political life of the emirate takes place here. This fact is a tourist attraction: With up to 14 million foreign tourists annually, Dubai is one of the most visited cities in the world. Therefore, it is time that the Handmade-Worldtour also pays a visit to the city.

Dubai city is located at the northern edge of the Emirate of Dubai and is divided by the Dubai Creek, a 100 to 1300 meter wide and about 14 kilometers long bay of the Persian Gulf. Previously, the independent cities of Deira on the north and Bur Dubai were situated at the south side. The two parts and their inhabitants connect bridges and small passenger ferries, the so-called Abras.
The city is divided into nine administrative sectors: Sector 1-4 and 6 are urban, Sector 7 and 9 are agricultural, while Sector 8 accommodates the luxurious 5-star Jebel Ali Hotel and a Golf Resort. In addition, Jebel Ali is currently developing Dubai’s new airport, the Dubai World Central International Airport. Each sector is divided into so-called main roads, which form the boundaries. The cityscape of Dubai is characterized by its numerous skyscrapers. At the beginning of 2008 there were about 150 skyscrapers over 150 m high, some over 200 m high and 6 over 300 m high. Including the Almas Tower with 360 m, the two Emirates Towers with 355 respectively 305 m, the Rose Tower with 333 m, the Burj al Arab with 321 m and the tallest building in the world, the impressive Burj Khalifa with 828 m.

Dubai is a diverse, as expensive shopping paradise. There are numerous boutiques of world famous fashion labels and huge shopping centers following the example set by the USA. The largest malls of the city are the Mall of the Emirates and the Dubai Mall. In addition, the beach park Jumeirah Beach Park, the Miracle Garden Dubai, the world’s largest, horizontal colorful flower garden with approximately 45 million flowering flowers, or the Emirates Golf Club attract tourists and residents of the Emirates alike. The small Madinat Theater and the village museum Dubai Creeks with its spice and gold market, Heritage Village and Diving Village, which is a mixture of the culture, history and traditions of Dubai, contribute to a rich cultural offer. The Dubai Museum also presents an overview of the historic life in Dubai before the oil boom.

 

Handemade-In Germany

Date

Location

Dubai

Arabischen Emiraten
DubaiArabischen Emiraten

Dubai

Dubai ist die größte Stadt der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate am Persischen Golf und die Hauptstadt des Emirats Dubai, in der ca. 85 % der Einwohner des Emirats leben. Dementsprechend spielt sich hier auch fast das gesamte ökonomische, soziale, kulturelle und politische Leben des Emirats ab. Dieser Umstand schlägt sich touristisch nieder: Mit bis zu 14 Millionen ausländischen Touristen jährlich zählt Dubai zu den meistbesuchten Städten der Welt.

Dubai-Stadt liegt am Nordrand des Emirats Dubai und wird geteilt durch den Dubai Creek, eine 100 bis 1300 Meter breite und ca. 14 Kilometer lange Bucht des Persischen Golfs. Früher befanden sich hier die unabhängigen Städte Deira auf der Nord- und Bur Dubai auf der Südseite. Die beiden Teile und ihre Bewohner verbinden Brücken und kleine Personenfähren, die sogenannten Abras.

Die Stadt ist in neun Verwaltungssektoren aufgeteilt: davon sind Sektor 1-4 und 6 städtisch, Sektor 7 und 9 landwirtschaftlich, während sich in Sektor 8 das luxuriöse 5-Sterne-Hotel Jebel Ali Hotel und Golf Resort befinden. Außerdem entsteht in Jebel Ali derzeit der neue Flughafen von Dubai, der Dubai World Central International Airport. Jeder Sektor ist in Communitys verschiedener Größe mit sogenannten Hauptstraßen unterteilt, die die Grenzen bilden. Das Stadtbild Dubais prägen seine zahlreichen Wolkenkratzer. Anfang 2008 stehen dort etwa 150 Wolkenkratzer, die über 150 m hoch sind, zirka 60 weitere, die über 200 m hoch sind und sechs, die über 300 m hoch sind, darunter der Almas Tower mit 360 m, die zwei Emirates Towers mit 355 bzw. 305 m, der Rose Tower mit 333 m, das Burj al Arab mit 321 m und das höchste Bauwerk der Welt, der eindrucksvolle Burj Khalifa mit 828 m.

Dubai ist ein vielfältiges, wie kostspieliges Einkaufsparadies. Es finden sich zahlreiche Boutiquen von Edelmarken der Modewelt und riesige Einkaufszentren nach amerikanischem Vorbild. Die größten der Stadt sind die Mall of the Emirates und die Dubai Mall. Daneben locken jedoch auch der Strandpark Jumeirah Beach Park, der Miracle Garden Dubai, der weltgrößte, horizontale bunte Blumengarten mit ca. 45 Millionen blühenden Blumen oder der Emirates Golf Club Touristen und Emiratis gleichermaßen an. Kulturell sorgen das kleine Madinat Theater sowie das Museumsdorf  Dubai Creeks mit Gewürz- und Goldmarkt, Heritage Village und Diving Village, das im Stil einer arabischen Siedlung die Kultur, Geschichte und Tradition Dubais vermittelt, für ein reichhaltiges Kulturangebot. Das Dubai Museum präsentiert außerdem einen Überblick über das historische Leben in Dubai vor dem Ölboom.

Handemade-In Germany

Date

Location

Dubai