Miami

Miami

The city of Miami is located in the U.S. state of Florida and includes an urban area of approximately 143 km2. Viewed from the water, Miami is considered as located at the mouth of the Miami River in Biscayne Bay, which is part of the Atlantic Ocean. Tall skyscrapers aspire skyward which are witnesses of the immense construction boom of the 1920s, which the city owes its nickname “Magic City”.

Cultural diversity is also an expression of over 30 different denominations that practice their faith in the more than 500 established churches. Essential for the city are the favourable climatic conditions. The year-round mild climate promotes a distinct lifestyle culture, which takes place mainly outdoors. While the beaches boast of a variety of leisure activities and water sports, large-scale city parks also invite one to linger. In the Art Deco District, more than 1,000 colourfully decorated homes exude a touch of nostalgia in the style of the 1920s and 1930s.

A cultural highlight is the December 2002 annual art fair, Art Basel Miami Beach, which is an offshoot of the Swiss Art Basel. The Museum of Contemporary Art has been prescribed contemporary authorship for art. The Miami Art Museum in the heart of the city primarily organizes exhibitions with international positions of the 20th and 21st centuries.

The economic power of Miami has spread over several sectors such as tourism, education, health and social, but also to future technologies as well as the management and administration area.

Handmade-In GermanyDateLocationMiami

USA
MiamiUSA

Miami

Die Stadt Miami ist im US-Bundesstaat Florida lokalisiert und umfasst ein Stadtgebiet von circa 143 km2. Vom Wasser aus betrachtet liegt Miami an der Mündung des Miami River in der Biscayne Bay, die zum Atlantischen Ozeans gehört. Hochgewachsene Wolkenkratzer streben himmelwärts, Zeugen des immensen Bau-Booms der 1920er Jahre, denen die Stadt ihren Beinamen „Magic City“ verdankt.

Die kulturelle Vielfalt ist auch Ausdruck der über 30 verschiedenen Konfessionen, die ihren Glauben in den mehr als 500 ansässigen Kirchen praktizieren. Essentiell für die Stadt sind die günstigen klimatischen Bedingungen. Das ganzjährig milde Klima befördert eine ausgeprägte Lifestyle-Kultur, die vorwiegend unter freiem Himmel stattfindet. Während die Strände mit diversen Freizeitangeboten und Wassersportarten aufwarten, laden großangelegte Stadtparks zum Verweilen ein. Im Art Deco District verströmen die mehr als 1000 farbig gestalteten Häuser im Stil der 1920er und 1930er Jahre einen Hauch Nostalgie.

Ein kulturelles Highlight ist die seit Dezember 2002 jährlich stattfindende Kunstmesse Art Basel Miami Beach, ein Ausläufer der Schweizer Art Basel. Das Museum of Contemporary Art hat sich der Kunstvermittlung zeitgenössischer Autorenschaft verschrieben. Das Miami Art Museum im Herzen der Stadt organisiert vorrangig Ausstellungen mit internationalen Positionen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.

Die wirtschaftliche Potenz Miamis verteilt sich auf mehrere Sektoren wie Tourismus, Ausbildung, Gesundheitswesen und Soziales, aber auch auf Zukunftstechnologien sowie den Management- und Verwaltungsbereich.

Handmade-In Germany

Date

Location

Miami