Riad

Riad

Saudi Arabia and Germany have been linked to eachother by good economic relations for many years. The friendship treaty between the two countries was already formulated in 1929. From technology to bread to eco-products – the interest in German products is as deep as diverse. It is not for nothing that Saudi Arabia is one of the most important Arab trading partners for Germany.

The Saudi economic reform plan “Vision 2030” of 2016 aims not only at economic efforts but also at the strengthening of cultural offers. Reason enough to get to know the country, located on the Red Sea and the Persian Gulf, also culturally and traditionally. The “Handmade-in-Germany” -Worldtour visits the capital of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the province of the same name, Riyadh.

The city has 4.6 million inhabitants. It is the economic, administrative and cultural center of the country and houses numerous universities, such as the Princess aNora bint Abdulrahman University, which is under construction, as well as museums and monuments. Riyadh is the seat of the Saudi Arabian government, parliament, all state central authorities, the royal house as well as numerous diplomatic missions.

Since the independence of Saudi Arabia in 1932, Riyadh has been the capital. Historically it is an important station of the Arabian space – the pilgrimages to Mecca and Medina, the most important pilgrim places of Islam, lead through the city. Since the 1940s, Riyadh has evolved from a relatively narrow, geographically isolated city to a generous metropolis. There are even single-family houses in the cityscape. Following the example of American cities, the new settlements and entire districts were designed in a chessboard style and are linked to the inner areas via powerful main roads. Population growth in the city averaged 8.2 per cent between 1974 and 1992.

The main industries of the capital are the production of building materials, the food industry and petroleum processing industry, in particular Saudi Basic Industries Corporation. Saudi Arabia’s only stock exchange is based in Riyadh.

 

Handemade-In Germany

Date

Location

Riad

Saudi-Arabien
RiadSaudi-Arabien

Riad

Saudi-Arabien und Deutschland verbinden seit vielen Jahren gute wirtschaftliche Beziehungen. Der Freundschaftsvertrag zwischen den beiden Ländern wurde bereits 1929 formuliert. Von Technologie, über Brot bis hin zu Ökoprodukten – das Interesse an deutschen Erzeugnissen ist so groß, wie divers. Nicht umsonst ist Saudi Arabien einer der wichtigsten arabischen Handelspartner Deutschlands.

Der saudische Wirtschaftsreformplan „Vision 2030“ von 2016 zielt neben wirtschaftlichen Bestrebungen auch auf die Stärkung kultureller Angebote. Grund genug das Land, gelegen am Roten Meer und Persischen Golf, auch kulturell und traditionell näher kennenzulernen. Die „Handmade-in-Germany“-Worldtour besucht die Hauptstadt des Königreichs Saudi-Arabien und der gleichnamigen Provinz, Riad.

Die Stadt hat 4,6 Millionen Einwohner. Sie ist wirtschaftliches, administratives und kulturelles Zentrum des Landes und beherbergt zahlreiche Universitäten, darunter die sich im Aufbau befindenden Princess aNora bint Abdul Rahman University, Museen und Baudenkmäler. Riad ist Sitz der saudi-arabischen Regierung, des Parlaments, aller staatlichen Zentralbehörden, des Königshauses sowie zahlreicher diplomatischer Vertretungen.

Seit der Unabhängigkeit Saudi-Arabiens im Jahre 1932 bildet Riad die Hauptstadt. Historisch ist sie eine wichtige Station des arabischen Raums – die Pilgerwege nach Mekka und Medina, der bedeutendsten Pilgerstätten des Islam, führen durch die Stadt. Seit den 1940er Jahren entwickelte sich Riad von einer relativ engen, räumlich isolierten Stadt zu einer großzügig angelegten Metropole. So finden sich sogar Einfamilienhäuser im Stadtbild. Nach dem Vorbild amerikanischer Städte wurden die neuen Siedlungen und ganze Stadtteile schachbrettartig angelegt und über leistungsfähige Hauptstraßen mit den inneren Bereichen verbunden. Das Bevölkerungswachstum der Stadt betrug zwischen 1974 und 1992 durchschnittlich 8,2 Prozent pro Jahr.

Wichtige Wirtschaftszweige der Hauptstadt sind die Herstellung von Baustoffen, die Nahrungsmittelindustrie und erdölverarbeitende Industrie, hier insbesondere die Saudi Basic Industries Corporation. Auch die einzige Börse Saudi-Arabiens hat ihren Sitz.

Handemade-In Germany

Date

Location

Riad