Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Spinning Top Armin Kolb

Spinning Top Armin Kolb

Since its founding in 1979, Armin Kolb’s studio has literally revolved around one small phenomenon: the spinning top! However, this little object is not perceived in its classical way as a child’s toy, but rather understood as an aesthetic object of art.

In his work,, Armin Kolb investigates the question of which shapes and material combinations are possible and necessary in order to highlight the aesthetics of a spinning top without limiting its functionality.

In elaborate – sometimes forgotten – turning techniques, he combines different natural materials such as amber and coral with various precious woods and completes his objects by filigree inlay and goldsmith’s work. The resulting bandwidth of the different spinning tops challenges the viewer to take time, to deal with every detail, to take them in their hands and play with them. Armin Kolb’s spinning tops stand symbolically for the game as an end in itself, but also for the polarizing interaction of movement and stillness at the same time.

The spinning tops have won several awards and are part of public collections such as the Badisches Landesmuseum Karlsruhe, the Grassimuseum Leipzig or the Power Station of Art in Shanghai.

Get in touch

Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Mirkelweg 12
D-26441 Jever

 

Phone: +49 (0)174 1930 601
kolb.armin@gmx.de
www.spinningtop.de

Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Spinning Top Armin Kolb

Spinning Top Armin Kolb

Spinning Top Armin Kolb

Seit der Gründung im Jahre 1979 dreht sich in dem Atelier von Armin Kolb im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes alles um ein kleines Phänomen: den Kreisel! Dieser wird allerdings nicht in seiner klassischen Weise als Kinderspielzeug wahrgenommen, sondern vielmehr als ästhetisches Kunstobjekt begriffen.

In seinen Arbeiten setzt sich Armin Kolb daher auch mit der Frage auseinander, welche Formgebungen und Materialkombinationen möglich und nötig sind, um die Ästhetik eines Kreisels hervorzuheben und ihn gleichzeitig nicht in seiner Funktionalität einzuschränken.

In aufwendigen, teilweise schon vergessenen, Drechseltechniken kombiniert er unterschiedliche Naturmaterialien wie Bernstein und Koralle mit verschiedenen Edelhölzern. Abgerundet werden seine Kreisel durch filigrane Einlege- und Goldschmiedearbeiten. Die so entstandene Bandbreite verschiedenster Kreisel fordert den Betrachter geradezu auf, sich Zeit zu nehmen, sich mit jedem Detail auseinander zu setzen, sie in die Hand zu nehmen und mit ihnen zu spielen. Armin Kolbs Kreisel stehen symbolisch für das Spiel als Selbstzweck aber auch für das polarisierende Zusammenspiel von Bewegung bei zeitgleichem Stillstand.

Seine Kreisel wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet und sind Teil öffentlicher Sammlungen wie beispielsweise des Badischen Landesmuseums Karlsruhe, des Grassimuseums Leipzig oder der Powerstation of Art in Shanghai.

Get in touch

Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Mirkelweg 12
D-26441 Jever

 

Phone: +49 (0)174 1930 601
kolb.armin@gmx.de
www.spinningtop.de

Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Spinning Top Armin Kolb
Spinning Top Armin Kolb